Coolbeth Wins Big at HPT Firecracker Extravaganza

Brandon Lee Robinson also wins Expert Twins main event

TOPEKA, KS. (July 7, 2008)
- After a night filled red-hot racing, fireworks and lots of family fun, Kenny Coolbeth Jr. took top prize at Heartland Park Topeka on July 4. The Topeka Harley-Davidson and BriggsAuto.com Firecracker Extravaganza featured the world-class racing from American Motorcycle Association Grand National Championship Flat Track Racing Series.

This is the third win of the year for Coolbeth, who just completed the fifth round at HPT of the 12 round series. After the 25 lap feature race, Coolbeth also captured his 18th Grand National win. Coolbeth also continues to lead Joe Kopp in the overall points standing.

Sam Halbert and Robert Pearson took second and third respectively in the AMA Grand National Main Event. Pearson led Halbert for most of the feature race, with Halbert pushing into second with just laps to go.

Just prior to the Grand National Event, Brandon Lee Robinson came away with the win in the Expert Twins Main Event. It marked Robinson's fourth consecutive win in the class.

The AMA GNC Flat Track Series returns to Heartland Park Topeka for the Big Twins season finale presented by Topeka Harley-Davidson and Briggs Auto.com on October 4.

1. Kenny Coolbeth Jr.; 2. Sam Halbert; 3. Robert Pearson; 4. Bryan Smith; 5. Joe Kopp; 6. Shaun Russell; 7. Chris Carr; 8. Bryan Bigelow; 9. Ricky Marshall; 10. Steve Murray.

Heat 1
— 1. Kenny Coolbeth Jr.; 2. Chris Carr; 3. Jacob F. Mattaya.
Heat 2 — 1. Robert C. Pearson; 2. Ricky Marshall; 3. Sammy L. Sweet.<
Heat 3 — 1. Shaun Russell; 2. Bryan Smith; 3. Bryan L. Bigelow.
Heat 4 — 1. Sam Halbert; 2. Joe Kopp; 3. Jared Mees.

Semifinal 1
— 1. Jake Johnson; 2. Matthew Weidman.
Semifinal 2 — 1. Dougg Lawrence; 2. Glen Schnabel.
Semifinal 3 — 1. Kevin Varnes; 2. Steve Murraay.

1. Chris Carr, 18.045 lap, 99.751 m.p.h; 2. Robert C. Pearson, 18.099, 99.453; 3. Bryan Smith, 18.230, 98.738; 4. Joe J. Kopp, 18.248, 98.641; 5. Sam I. Halbert, 18.281, 98.463; 6. Shaun Russell, 18.286, 98.436; 7. Ricky Marshall, 18.303, 98.345; 8. Kenny Coolbeth Jr., 18.314, 98.285; 9. Jacob F. Mataya, 18.346, 98.114; 10. Brandan J. Bergen, 18.355, 98.066.

1. Brandon Lee Robinson; 2. Brock Schwarzenbacher; 3. Brady Mueller; 4. Chad Cose; 5. Austin Greenland; 6. Michael Kirkness; 7. Chase Sconyers; 8. Lucas Scherb; 9. Logan Scherb; 10. Corby Scherb.

Heartland Park Topeka, a multi-purpose racing facility located in Topeka, Kan. annually hosts NHRA POWERade drag racing, the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA), World of Outlaws (WoO) and many other pro and amateur drag racing, road racing and dirt racing events throughout the race season.

[Home] [Classifieds] [News] [Builder Profiles] [Products] [Guest Columnist] [Buyers Guide] [Upcoming Events] [Readers Rides] [Shop Tours] [Event Coverage] [Tech] [Book Reviews] [Catalogs] [About Us] [Vendors] [Email]

Copyright 2006-2008.  HotrodHotlineBIKES.com  All Rights Reserved.
No portion may be used without our written permission.
Contact: 877.700.2468 or 208.562.0470
s HRHLBikes s 230 S. Cole Road s Boise s Idaho s  83709 s